CinemaDave (cinemadave) wrote,


Delray Beach, FL, <(May 24, 2009)> On Sunday, May 24th, the Delray Beach Film Festival wrapped up its 6-day festival, screening more than 200 films from around the world.
We are pleased to announce the following awards and honors. Please check our website for monthly screenings and come see the best of the DBFF.

The Stella Artois Lifetime Achievement Award to Robert Davi.

The Stella Artois Rising Star Award to Alexander Nevsky.

Stella Artois Award for the Best Film by a New Filmmaker to Bajir Cannon, Director of The Distance between the Apple and the Tree.

The Chloe Lifetime Achievement Award for Support of Independent Filmmaking to Giancarlo Esposito.

The Frownies Award for Best Close-Up in a Motion Picture to Serah D’Laine, (Knuckle Draggers).

Winners of the Script Writing Contest Sponsored by Final Draft -This year we have two winners: Margaret Nussbaum and Jim Steech for M.I.L.F. and Shari Umansky for Son of M.I.L.F., a Madoff Tragedy.

 Script-to-Reel Short Winner, Sponsored by Sony and Perfect Vodka, to Dan Pico for Heaven Above You.

Best Feature Film Audience Award to Falling For Grace, Directed by Fay Ann Lee.

Best Documentary Audience Award to Faded Glory, Directed by Rick Cohen.

Director’s Choice for Best Documentary, War Against the Weak, by Pete Deemas.

Special Award for a documentary that raises awareness of contemporary issues, The Spitting Game, Directed by Denice Ann Evans.

Best Short, How My Father Killed Dracula, Directed by Sky Soleil.

Award for Best Experimental Short, The Green, Green Heart, Directed by Steven Lesser.

Best Animation Short, Token Hunchback, Directed by Tim Reckart.

Best Animation Feature, The Magistical, Directed by John Cernak.

Audience Award Best Foreign Film , Hachipusheet (The Beetle) Directed by Yishar Orian.

Best Foreign Film, Children’s Orchestra (Orquestra Dos Meninos), Directed by Paulo Thiago De Oliveira.

Director’s Choice for Best Foreign Film, Lokas, Directed by Gonzalo Justiniano.

Best Environmental/Green Award, Free River Park, Directed by Tara Nurin.
Kodak Award  for the Best Student Shorts, Fades with Age, Directed Aaron I. Naar and Seth Roger Cuddeback.  

The Sara Fuller Award for Best Young Filmmaker and Best Student Short to Florida MIU Filmmaker, Xander Rey Soteras, for Ditched.

Best Documentary by a Florida filmmaker, Cracker - The Last Cowboys of Florida, Directed by Victor Milt.

 Music Video Award to F**K the FED!, Directed by Neal Fox.
Award for Best Xtreme Sports Film to That’s It That’s All, Directed by Curt Morgan and Travis Rice.

Best Feature Film by a Florida Filmmaker Film Contest? Directed by V. Alex Marquez.

About the Festival:

The DBFF is a non-profit organization 501 c3, dedicated to providing the local community and international visitors with a diverse presentation of films from around the world, including a venue of Student Shorts and Xtreme sports. 

In addition to offering films that might not otherwise be released theatrically in the USA, DBFF will provide a unique cultural experience, educational programs, and forums for exploring the future of cinema. 

Founding sponsors for the Delray Beach Film Festival are committed to providing the independent film makers/artist a venue to screen their films and to network  with other film makers and industry people.  

Profits will be shared between the education of young filmmakers and the Palm Beach County Humane Society.

  • Post a new comment


    default userpic

    Your reply will be screened

    Your IP address will be recorded 

    When you submit the form an invisible reCAPTCHA check will be performed.
    You must follow the Privacy Policy and Google Terms of use.